The Hunger Games…A Book Review!

hunger games
Every so often, every couple of years I begin a book that I literally can’t leave down. The first few pages have me so gripped that I’m reading it faster, willing myself on to the next page, the next chapter just to find out what’s going to happen. And then before I know it I’m at the last page and I want more chapters…I need more words.

The Hunger Games is the first of a trilogy. Set in the near future in a place called Panem. 12 boys and 12 girls are picked at a reaping to compete to the death for their districts in a cruel live event called the hunger games.

When 16 year old Katniss Everdeen volunteers to take the place of her sister survival becomes second nature.
The Hunger Games is terrifying, exhilarating and unexpectedly thought-provoking. Although very innocently written it is remarkably intelligent.

Suzanne Collins injects so much personality into each character that you automatically feel like you know them. Katniss is brave and loyal and Peeta is kind and genuine. He is so irrevocably in love with Katniss that it pulls at the heart strings.

My only downfall of this book is that the romance between Katniss and the Peeta is very innocent and doesn’t progress as fast as I would have liked.

In saying that I have to remind myself that the characters are only 17 and the target audience is teenagers with a love for dystopian fantasy.

A day and a half is all it took for me to read The Hunger Games. It was truly gripping. I don’t want to give too much away because every page tells a story and every chapter throws in a twist. Aimed at the teenage era I wasn’t expecting to like it. Let alone love it.

One thought on “The Hunger Games…A Book Review!

Leave a Reply

