Happy 1st Birthday Jewellbooks!

Picture 3

Tomorrow is the 1st birthday of jewellbooks. Sitting in my living room this time last year I goggled the word ‘BLOG’ and was completely blown away by the sheer amount of blogs that flashed up on my screen. Lifestyle, fashion, home interiors, beauty, fitness…if you can name it then somebody somewhere has started writing about it.

My next entry into Google was ‘BLOG HOSTS’ and up popped numerous websites offering free support and guidance on getting started. I decided after a few hours researching them that I would go with WordPress. With their step-by-step guides to on how to publish posts, connect with other bloggers and change themes and colours to suit on a personal level.

And so, jewellbooks was born after years of thinking about it, dreaming it and dismissing it. Initially I was to write about books but soon became obsessed with combining all my greatest joys into one. Books, reading, writing and travelling. So, Jewellbooks became a travel blog and book review site and obviously the name has a double meaning. ‘Jewell’ for obvious reasons and ‘books’ for my love of books and reviewing and also ‘books’ as in to book a travel opportunity or trip.

One year on and I’m so happy to say that I think it’s been pretty successful in the world of blogging and book reviewing, especially when starting out as a complete amateur. I’m one month off qualifying as a freelance travel journalist, have numerous followers all over the world and I’m now professionally reviewing books for authors and publishers.

The most important part of all this is that I love it. I’ve found something that I love to do and life is far too short not to follow your dreams. Whether I’m good at it or not, all my days dreaming of writing and reading for a living isn’t just a daydream anymore, and by determination, hard work and sheer luck (and a lot of time researching, writing and travelling) I’ve found what I was born to do.

Be brave enough to follow your dreams. It might just be the best thing you ever do.

2 thoughts on “Happy 1st Birthday Jewellbooks!

Leave a Reply

