Written in the Stars by Ali Harris

images
Firstly I would like to thank Simon and Schuster and also Netgalley for giving me the chance to devour an advanced reading copy of this book.

The Blurb

One decision + two different paths = how many happy endings?
Have you ever wondered ‘What if…?’ What if you’d taken that other job, gone on a date with that sweet guy, moved to a different city? Would an alternative life path have led to a happier ending?
Now imagine if you could have taken both paths…
When Bea Bishop slips while walking down the aisle on her wedding day, she is momentarily knocked unconscious. And in a flash, her world splits and two separate parallel lives take her on two very different journeys. In one, Bea flees back down the aisle and out of the church. In the other, she glides blissfully towards Adam, her intended.
Each path will take her on a very different journey. And each will see her life change for better and for worse. But which story will lead to her happy-ever-after?

I was absolutely delighted to receive a copy of this book and I can assure you I was not disappointed. Although ultimately a love story, this book is about finding oneself and ultimately being happy.

It is beautifully and very smartly written as it flits between the two different lives of Bea Bishop. The life she should have taken and the life she feels she deserves. This is probably one of the hardest reviews I’ve had to write as I hate spoiler alerts but also feel that the best bits to review are the bits that give too much away.

It tackles some very common mental health problems that are unfortunately rife in today’s society. The stigma of these issues still remains but this book proves that it’s ok to have, and to talk about depression and anxiety disorders and Bea is, although fictional, sound proof that these problems can be overcome with help and support.

I loved Adams character and found him very believable. He is handsome, successful and kind and he understands Bea. Milly, Bea’s best friend was also very likeable and her ‘take no nonsense’ attitude was the perfect balance that Bea’s character needed. Loni, Bea’s mother was also fantastic. Although I have to be honest and say that I wasn’t totally won over by Beas character. I wanted to really love her but found her indecisiveness frustrating but I seen past this because of the personal battles she was fighting.

This was the first book of Ali Harris’ I’ve read but it definitely won’t be the last. Personally I really enjoyed this book but however it did take me longer than normal to read it and I think it may be because I struggled a bit at the end to keep up with the pace and what life I was reading about at that time, having to go back a page or two a couple of times to get my bearings.

Having said all this, overall I really liked this book and it was an addictive page turner when I was on track. I particularly liked the references to the flowers and plants and loved reading about the Norfolk seaside. This is undeniably a summer must read.

One thought on “Written in the Stars by Ali Harris

Leave a Reply

