One Night In Italy by Lucy Diamond

images 1
Firstly, I’d like to thank Pan Macmillan at Macmillan Press for letting me have an advanced reading copy for review of this book.

The Blurb
Is Italian really the language of love? A new class of students hopes to find out. Anna’s recently been told the father she’s never met is Italian. Now she’s baking focaccia, whipping up tiramisu and swotting up on her vocabulary, determined to make it to Italy so she can find him in person. Catherine’s husband has walked out on her, and she’s trying to pick up the pieces of her life. But she’ll need courage as well as friends when she discovers his deception runs even deeper than infidelity. Sophie’s the teacher of the class, who’d much rather be back in sunny Sorrento. She can’t wait to escape the tensions at home and go travelling again. But sometimes life – and love – can surprise you when you least expect it. As the evening class gets underway, friendships form and secrets from Italy begin to emerge. With love affairs blossoming in the most unlikely places, and hard decisions to face, it’s going to be a year that Anna, Catherine and Sophie will never forget.
I love, love, love this book. Lucy Diamond has done it again with another fantastic book. I’d probably go as far as to say that this is my favourite read of hers so far.

It has everything I look for in a good book. Suspense without giving too much away, romance, really likeable characters and a liquid storyline. The bonus was that this book was focused on all things Italian. My favourite place in the world.

I was honestly hooked from beginning to end and loved the fact that I couldn’t predict what was going to happen. It’s the sort of storyline that has you routing for the characters and genuinely wishing them happiness.

My favourite character was Anna, a girl after my own heart with her writing career, her innocent conscience and her attitude towards everything life throws at her. Sophie’s nature was also lovely and I really grew to like her. Every character came into their own and I loved the way Catherine grew a set and finally started to live her life she wanted and not the life her husband wanted her have.

Lucy Diamond’s writing is flawless and fluid and gets you gripped. She writes from the heart and has a great knack for creating such realistic fictional characters. The little snippets of the beautiful Italian language where the icing on the cake for this lovely, hearty novel. Now I think I’ll go and brush up on my own language skills. Cioa!

Leave a Reply

