Denizen – A verse Drama by Dave Duggan

20141028_174909
A short while ago I had the pleasure of meeting Dave Duggan. A dramatist and novelist living and working in Derry. I was very honoured when he asked me to review his verse drama Denizen. Dave wrote the Oscar nominated Dance Lexie Dance and his theatre work has been seen as far as Afghanistan and New York.

Denizen is a courtroom drama about a dissident republican who challenges himself to build a future without violence.
Written in verse, first of all I have to say that I have never read anything like this before. Being from Northern Ireland and having lived through the troubles I’ve always prided myself in being quite ignorant towards politics, religion and most things associated with it.

There is no doubting that this is a literary genius. Dramatically written, as a reader I feel Dave has the natural ability to transport the reader to the set and of course the scene. The context, if I’m honest, a little over my head but focuses on civil and international conflict as well as the arguments Denizen faces with not only the “jury” but also with himself “in the dock”.

The writing is unique and the use of words impeccable. Dave’s new multi lingual sci-fi drama ‘Makaronik’ will be shown in the PlayHouse, Derry on 6th November and also has various other dates in Belfast and Ireland.

A big thank you to Dave for letting me review this and also for my signed copy. And also thank you to Jenni Doherty of the Little Acorns Bookstore for supplying me with my copy.

https://www.facebook.com/GuildhallPressDerry

Leave a Reply

