You Sent Me A Letter by Lucy Dawson

20160205_180703
I received a wedding invitation in the post last month. Gorgeous scribed writing on expensive card and addressed directly to me. It was to the wedding of Sophie Gardner and Marc Turner. There was only one problem…I had no idea who these two people were. I later discovered that it was the fantastic marketing and press release efforts of Corvus books for Lucy Dawson’s new novel.

The Blurb (Courtesy of Amazon )

At 2 a.m. on the morning of her fortieth birthday, Sophie wakes to find an intruder in her bedroom. The stranger hands Sophie a letter and issues an threat: open the letter at her party that evening, in front of family and friends, at exactly 8 p.m., or those she loves will be in grave danger.

What can the letter possibly contain?

This will be no ordinary party; Sophie is not the only person keeping a secret about the evening ahead. When the clock strikes eight, the course of several people’s lives will be altered for ever.

This book is different to what I normally read. I don’t particularly like a thriller or suspense novel but I must say it had me hooked on the first page. The book starts with Sophie finding an intruder in her room on the morning of her birthday and takes you on a whirlwind of secrets, truths, lies and betrayal.

The characters are very believable and not exaggerated in the slightest, some of them likeable and some not so much so. Although the book was based mostly on Sophie and her relationship with Marc and gives her a very hard time, I found it quite hard to feel sorry for her. I almost felt like she had sort of provoked some of the hard luck she had come upon.

In saying that this was an interesting and intriguing read which kept me hooked the whole way through. It is well written with normal, down to earth characters and I loved the fact that everybody was a suspect the whole way through. Lucy Dawson has a new fan in me after reading this absorbing and compelling novel.

Leave a Reply

